A word about the authors

A word about the authors

Julie et Médina 2017_

Julie Tardif, CRHA and Medina Cayer, MBA, Adm.A, CRHA are the consultants and visionaries who recently co- founded Iceberg Management, a human resources and organizational development consulting firm. Read moreWith their expertise, they help managers of SMEs and board members face both operational and strategic challenges, through the integration of best practices in management and governance. The purpose of Iceberg Management is to allow its clients to increase in organizational efficiency, by investigating the real causes of the problems and the implementation of concrete solutions tailored to the specific context of each organization.

Co-Authors
Iceberg Management-0320

Martine Drolet, CRHA and Caroline Thomson, CRHA joined the Iceberg Management team early in the year 2016 while the firm ended its first successful year of activities. Read moreStrong in human resources and organizational development expertise, they fit perfectly into the mission and the goal of the firm, by supporting clients in their organizational challenges and by participating actively in the search to put-in-place solutions. Co-authors of the blog space advice, they take pleasure in sharing their advice to the community in order to improve a little more each day the wonderful world of work.

Iceberg Management | Why invest in a consultant?
15565
page,page-id-15565,page-template,page-template-full_width,page-template-full_width-php,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,side_menu_slide_with_content,width_470,qode-theme-ver-8.0,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-4.9.2,vc_responsive
 

Investing in a consultant

38%
Increased demand for management consulting services in Canada from 2013 to 2018.

A few statistics

The hiring of consultants helps profitability by reducing payroll and labor costs. There is no recruitment or training required to access the required expertise within the prescribed time, and no layoffs are necessary.

Of companies in Quebec are SME’s0%
Of jobs in Quebec are generated by SME’s0%

65% to 50%: Strong decrease forecasted from 2002 to 2040.

  • 2002

  • 2040

Managers in SME’s are time-constrained, resource-constrained, lacking expertise and sometimes lacking interest in delivering expected results in a timely manner. These shortcomings are detrimental to their organizational health and the full potential of their business. The hiring of consultants compensates for one or more of these simultaneous failures.

Labor shortages will be the number one challenge facing Quebec companies. SMEs will find it more difficult to compete with large employers. They will have to have strong programs of attraction, mobilization and retention of talents that are often the characteristic of consultants-experts.

Money doesn’t create happiness

Public service employees are more pleased with their compensation conditions than private sector employees, despite the higher salaries and performance-based bonuses offered to them. Surprised? An expert consultant will help you to see more clearly.

Working from home or a remote location may be trendy, but it is not necessarily a source of motivation for your performing employees. Overwhelmingly, employees say that working on projects that interest and motivate them make them perform better than usual. A consultant can help your team reorganize tasks more challenging.

50% to 200% … Percentage of the annual salary representing the average cost of replacing an employee who leaves your organization.

8%

8% : small percentage of people who prefer the telecommuting to new stimulating tasks which reach their fields of interest.

empty chairs

$150 000 to $200 000

The annual average cost of absenteeism for a company that has $1M in payroll.

The absenteeism and the turnover rate of staff are very expensive to companies. A departure costs on average 0.5 to 2 times the salary of the employee who is leaving while absenteeism costs on average 15 to 20% of payroll. For these reasons, it is 60% of companies that calculate their turnover rate and 57% that calculate their absenteeism. And you? Call on our consultants to obtain a portrait of your organizational health.

Still hesitating about hiring a consultant?

“If you think it’s expensive to hire a professional to do the job, wait until you hire an amateur.”

– Red Adair (1915-2004)

Where to start?
Take 5 minutes to fill out our mini HR diagnostic tool.

Un mot sur les auteures

Un mot sur les auteures

Julie et Médina

Julie Tardif, CRHA et Médina Cayer, MBA, Adm.A, CRHA sont des consultantes visionnaires qui ont récemment cofondé Iceberg Management, un cabinet de services-conseils en ressources humaines et en développement organisationnel. Lire plusAvec leur expertise, elles aident les dirigeants de PME et les membres de CA à relever leurs défis tant opérationnels que stratégiques, par l’intégration des meilleures pratiques de gestion et de gouvernance. La raison d’être d’Iceberg Management est de permettre à ses clients de gagner en efficacité organisationnelle, par l’investigation des causes réelles des problèmes et par la mise en place de solutions concrètes et adaptées au contexte particulier de chaque organisation.

Co-auteures
Iceberg Management-0320

Martine Drolet, CRHA et Caroline Thomson, CRHA se sont jointes à l’équipe d’Iceberg Management dès le début de l’année 2016 alors que le cabinet couronnait de succès sa toute première année d’activités. Lire plus
Fortes de leur expertise en ressources humaines et en développement organisationnel, elles s’intègrent parfaitement dans la mission et l’objectif du cabinet, en accompagnant les clients dans leurs défis organisationnels et en participant activement à la recherche et à la mise-en-place de solutions permanents. Co-auteures du blogue Espace Conseils, elles prennent plaisir à partager leurs conseils à la communauté afin d’améliorer un peu plus chaque jour le merveilleux monde du travail.

Iceberg Management | Pourquoi investir dans un consultant ?
15565
page,page-id-15565,page-template,page-template-full_width,page-template-full_width-php,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,side_menu_slide_with_content,width_470,qode-theme-ver-8.0,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-4.9.2,vc_responsive
 

Investir dans un consultant

38%
Hausse de la demande prévue pour des services de consultation en management au Canada entre 2013 à 2018.

Quelques statistiques

L’embauche de consultants aide la rentabilité puisqu’elle allège la masse salariale et les coûts de main-d’œuvre. Il n’y a pas de recrutement ni de formation requise pour avoir accès à l’expertise souhaitée dans les temps prescrits, et aucune mise-à-pied n’est nécessaire.

DES ENTREPRISES AU QUÉBEC SONT DES PME0%
DES EMPLOIS AU QUÉBEC SONT GÉNÉRÉS PAR DES PME0%

65% à 50% : forte décroissance prévue du taux d’activité de la population de 2002 à 2040.

  • En 2002

  • En 2040

Les gestionnaires en PME manquent de temps, manquent de ressources, manquent d’expertise et manquent parfois d’intérêt pour livrer les résultats attendus dans les temps prescrits. Ces manquements nuisent à leur santé organisationnelle et à l’essor du plein potentiel de leur entreprise. L’embauche de consultants vient pallier à un ou à plusieurs de ces manquements simultanés.

La pénurie de main-d’œuvre représentera le défi numéro un des entreprises québécoises. Les PME auront encore plus de difficultés à concurrencer avec les grands employeurs. Elles devront se doter de solides programmes d’attraction, de mobilisation et de rétention des talents qui sont souvent le propre des consultants-experts.

L’argent ne fait pas le bonheur

Les employés de la fonction publique sont plus heureux de leurs conditions de rémunération que les employés du secteur privé, malgré les salaires plus élevés et les bonis de performance offerts à ces derniers . Surpris ? Un consultant-expert vous aidera à y voir plus clair.

Le télétravail est peut-être à la mode, mais il n’est pas nécessairement une source de motivation pour vos employés performants. En très grande majorité, les employés affirment que de travailler sur des projets qui les intéressent et les motivent les rendent plus performants qu’à l’habitude. Un consultant pourra aider votre équipe à réorganiser les tâches de manière plus stimulante.

De 50% à 200%… Pourcentage du salaire annuel représentant le coût moyen de remplacement d’un employé qui quitte votre organisation.

8%

8% : petit pourcentage de gens qui préfèrent le télétravail à de nouvelles tâches stimulantes qui rejoignent leurs champs d’intérêt.

empty chairs

150 000$ à 200 000$

Coût moyen annuel de l’absentéisme pour une entreprise ayant 1M$ en masse salariale.

L’absentéisme et le roulement de personnel coûtent très cher aux entreprises. Un départ coûte en moyenne 0.5 à 2 fois le salaire de l’employé qui quitte alors que l’absentéisme coûte en moyenne 15 à 20% de la masse salariale. Pour ces raisons, ce sont 60% des entreprises qui calculent leur taux de roulement et 57% qui calculent leur absentéisme. Et vous ? Faites appel à nos consultants pour obtenir un portrait de votre santé organisationnelle.

Vous hésitez toujours à faire appel à un consultant ?

« Si vous pensez qu’embaucher un professionnel coûte cher, attendez d’embaucher un amateur. »

– Red Adair (1915-2004)

Par où commencer?
Prenez 5 minutes pour remplir notre mini diagnostic RH.